Nikon 70-300 VR how good is it?

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by simon ess, Feb 8, 2009.

1. simon ess

simon ess

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +596
    Hi I'm new to photography, having got a Nikon D40 with 18-55 kit lens and Nikor 70-300 zoom fo Christmas. Now, It's almost certainly me rather than kit but all my pics taken with the zoom seem a bit soft whatever I do. I would like to achieve the sharpness I see in lots of the posts here.
    Do you think I would get better results with the Nikon 70-300 VR or should I just accept that I've got a lot to learn and my technique needs to get a lot better? I could afford the Nikon lens in a few months, but wouldn't want to spend that much if it won't make much difference because it's me that's the problem.
    Thanks

2. dazza74

dazza74

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,394
    I feel it's money well spent the 70-300 VR, it's the one lens I own that I never consider selling at any point. A couple of pics using it :

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. simon ess

simon ess

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +596
    Thanks Dazza. Love the robin - that's exactly what I'm after. Still not sure if it's the lens or you're just better / more practiced than me.

4. dazza74

dazza74

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,394
    It's the lens ;)

Seriously it's up there with my two Tamron's I own for sharpness IMO. The other beauty of the lens is that it's not a DX one so can be used on a full frame camera further down the line if you upgrade.

5. Fozzybear

Fozzybear

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +295
    Great shots there Dazza - excellent feather detail in the robin and really like the wet rounded stones!