Next steps after SBS2008 ??

psikey

Distinguished Member
I'm no IT expert but know enough to keep our system running at work most of the time (do have an external IT company for support as needed).

About 3-4 years ago we went from simple peer-to-peer connection when less than 10 people to an SBS2008 system designed to offer all the 'bits' we would need for an expanding company but have now reached the 75 user limit.

As I understand it the SBS product line is basically Server 2008, Exchange, Sharepoint and a cut-down SQL module all packaged into an integrated package.

We use a Single HP QUAD core 2GHz Xeon with 12GB RAM and 2 x 250GB RAID1 drives for OS and 2 x 1.5TB RAID1 drives for data storage (shares, user Shares, Exchange Database etc.). Only other software is AVG 2011 and Blackberry Enterprise Server (the free one) and we backup to a pair of external USB drives (rotating to fireproof safe) with Acronis Backup 10. All website creation and hosting is done by an outside company.

I do have an enquiry in with our IT support company who are looking into this for me including VirtualMachine route, but was hoping friendly, knowledgeable AVForums members could give me their opinion.

If I go the Windows route what actual packages would I need as there looks to be many variations? We do also already have a Single license of Server 2008 Standard and a 5 CAL license of SQL Server 2008 standard.

In summary, what software would we need to handle around 100 users and would the existing single server be 'man' enough for this?

I'd also be interested to know if a Linux alternative would be an option working with Office 2007 client PC's for the exchange & sharepoint functions. I know very little of Linux (my QNAP NAS) but have downloaded ClearOS and installed on a HP Microserver to have a play.

We also have a spare G5 HP Proliant Server I can use to play about with which we keep in storage at another location in case of Disaster with a Acronis backup.