Next Sky+ software upgrade

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by common, Dec 5, 2002.

  1. common

    common
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Any ideas when the next one is due and what it will add ?
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    Still crossing fingers it arrives in a week or so but that is looking unlikely as a major OS update this close to a holiday would be risky if there were problems.
    A 30 minute recording buffer (TIVO style) is on the list as well as the two channel recording.
     
  3. asimm

    asimm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +75
    Phoned them yesterday about the 3 for 2 box office offer. They said that the software update is expected very early in the new year.
     
  4. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    The SKY+ software was updated last night.
    A few minor cosmetic changes but there is now the recording buffer (Instant Rewind) that has been mentioned.
    The function is user definable, off or on (5,15,30 or 60 mins).
     
  5. common

    common
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Cheers starburst

    remind us how to manually change it....is it power off, then on while holding the button?
     
  6. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975

    (1) Put box into Standby;
    (2) Remove the viewing card**
    (3) Press and hold the Back-up button on the Digibox (not the remote control);
    (4) Whilst holding the Back-up Button, switch off the power to the box at the mains - either with the switch on the socket or by removing the plug;
    (5) Count to ten slowly;
    (6) Keep pressing that Back-up button and put the power back on to the box;
    (7) When all four lights appear on the Digibox, release the Back-up button (if your Digibox is connected by scart, there will be a message on the screen stating an update is taking place and that it can take 10 minutes (but it can take longer);
    (8) Replace the viewing card


    **You can leave the card in if you want.
     
  7. big.hal

    big.hal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I noticed that if you were watching a recorded program and stopped it and then when you were watching sky and pressed play it went straight to the recorded programme. Was this always there or has this been added recently as I've not noticed it before?
     
  8. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975

    Yes it's always done that:)
     
  9. big.hal

    big.hal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh well....Must pay more attention in future :blush: :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice