1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Next-Gen Consoles & HDMI/DVI

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Logan09, May 30, 2005.

  1. Logan09

    Logan09
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Does anyone know whether the next-gen consoles will require a HDMI input, or whether you could use a DVI (non-HDCP) with an adapter?

    I know you will be able to connect them by RGB/Component as well, but I'm talking about the best possible connection. I was basically wondering if I buy a Toshiba 27WL55 then will I be able to use a DVI-to-HDMI adapter with the Xbox360/PS3?
     
  2. SIDEARM

    SIDEARM
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    PS3 will have HDMI out as standard so you can just use an HDMI -> DVI converter, no probs. XBOX 360 has a proprietary AV out just like the XBOX. It is digital so there is no reason why a range of cables shouldnt be available covering any type of connection you want. What we do know is it comes with a component cable in the box, so you will have to pay extra for a digital cable.
     
  3. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    Xbox 360 comes with a Component Cable in the box? Wow - that is very surprising. I guess they really are serious about pushing the HD side of it.

    Also I can think of no reason why Component cables wouldn't be made available for the next generation consoles. However, they probably won't output High-Def movies over them (they'll probably be scaled down to Standard Def) due to there being no form of copy protection that Hollywood deems safe.
     
  4. SIDEARM

    SIDEARM
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well they have confirmed a component cable in the box for the US market anyway, heres hoping theyre not going to shaft us by just giving the UK a composite or something.
     
  5. SIDEARM

    SIDEARM
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ooh confirmed: XBOX 360 comes with a single cable that has both composite and component connectors on it. Pic here: http://img283.echo.cx/my.php?image=360hdadapter8fm.jpg

    Also there is an official VGA cable now. Pic here: http://img266.echo.cx/my.php?image=360vgaadapter2gw.jpg

    Both apparently have gold connectors, whether that makes a difference or not I dont know.

    Get more info in this thread: http://www.hdtvarcade.com/hdtvforum/viewtopic.php?t=2085&sid=fad20ae918dcebcbc9a67d9f01bc4c67

    So which gives a better picture, component or VGA?
     
  6. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    I'm inclined to say VGA might have the slight edge because it wouldn't have the 4:2:2 (I think?) compressed colour space?
     
  7. Mad Jack

    Mad Jack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +40
    I saw the MS E3 press conference the other day and they said they'd instructed/requested that developers make all their Xbox 360 games support a default 16:9 aspect ratio and resolutions of at least 720p/1080i. They added that the games would still look great if they were displayed on 4:3 SD TVs.
     
  8. Henders

    Henders
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry for the stupid question, but does the VGA cable enable you to use the xbox with a computer monitor? If so, will it be able to output 720i/p to the monitor?
     
  9. serial45

    serial45
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liverpool UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    w00t! thanks for the info mate!
     
  10. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    Yeah, that's what the VGA cable's for, and it will output 720p.

    (No such thing as 720i though).
     
  11. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    I would expect this to be OK for games, but if you want to play pre recorded media, expect HDCP to be mandatory for HD output.

    -Ian
     
  12. singaporta

    singaporta
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've also dubts. Ps3 will have HDMI, which if I'm not wrong carry on also sound signal. My Sharp have only DVI so I will buy an adaptor but what about the audio signal?Consider I dont' have an home theater for digital audio signal. Is there an adaptor HDMI to DVI+rca audio?
     
  13. SIDEARM

    SIDEARM
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes dont worry you shouldnt have any trouble finding an adaptor. In fact I would be suprised if sony dont have their own adaptor solution to this problem as vast numbers of people have DVI equipped tvs (far more than have HDMI im sure)
     
  14. Da_Rude_Baboon

    Da_Rude_Baboon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +55
    The PS3 has 2 HDMI sockets and the same multi AV socket the PS1 and PS2 had. You do not have to own an HDMI equipped display to use it. :rolleyes:
     
  15. singaporta

    singaporta
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I know I can use the actual component cable but if I want to have 720p or 1080i with digital signal and not analog like component one, I need to use the HDMI socket and a to DVI adapter
     
  16. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    HDMI is digital audio, so its not a simple breakout cable for RCA analogue audio, you would need to do a D/A conversion. However, I would expect it to have its own audio analogue outs, probably in a similar fashion to the PS2 via the proprietry connector - which would probably carry analogue video too. It may also have a separate digital audio out too,like to optical connector.

    -Ian
     
  17. danvitale

    danvitale
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    By The Sea
    Ratings:
    +114
    The PS3 will contain a similar AV out than the PS2 has at the moment, so it should also be able to output HD via component.
     
  18. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    Except for much pre recorded content...
     

Share This Page

Loading...