NEWS: Samsung TVs first to land Apple TV and AirPlay 2

Discussion in 'Samsung TVs Forum' started by Phil Hinton, May 14, 2019 at 11:19 AM.


    1. Andy Bassett

      Andy Bassett
      Standard Member Staff Member

      Joined:
      Aug 7, 2017
      Messages:
      214
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      Sheffield, UK
      Ratings:
      +100
    2. Duncan1977

      Duncan1977
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Oct 31, 2016
      Messages:
      289
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      Shefford
      Ratings:
      +69
      If the UK is one of the launch countries, and it is a fully baked firmware (rather than an app update), it is yet to appear for either the Q9FN or Q90R...

      Hoping it comes soon, will look forward to pulling my Apple TV 4K out of the mix and freeing up an HDMI slot! :)
       
    3. deans6571

      deans6571
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 12, 2008
      Messages:
      235
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      South London
      Ratings:
      +54
      ...a real shame that only 2018 and 2019 TVs are supported as many of us have older ones (2017 at least) and none will get the app.
      :(:(
       
    4. lemonhead

      lemonhead
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 11, 2002
      Messages:
      666
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      28
      Ratings:
      +31
      Just installed the Apple TV app on my Q9FN & it looks like the recent 1251 firmware upgrade installed everything it needed. Looks fine & plays everything (including HDR) on uk movies purchased via iTunes. A couple of things I’ve noticed after using the app for approx 30 minutes:

      If you have a US iTunes account, it doesn’t seem to play certain films I.e The Equalizer & the Harry Potter films. Gives an error message saying it needs to be played via iTunes. Just tried to play them through my ATV4k box & there also seems to be an issue so may be iTunes related, rather than the Samsung app.

      No way of moving to different scenes in a film, like you can do on the ATV box, unless someone has found a way.

      The app takes you straight into the film, no film menus come up, so no way to play iTunes extras, again unless someone has found a way.

      Ref Airplay, tried to play BT Sport via the app on my IPad but didn’t work & constantly came up with an error message. You Tube worked ok via airplay though.

      Picture wise looks very good though, not sure about sound as I’m just using my Q9FN for sound at the moment.
       
    5. Killzone

      Killzone
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2016
      Messages:
      198
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      12
      Trophy Points:
      32
      Location:
      Ireland
      Ratings:
      +48
      Dolby Vision next would be a major game changer.
       
    6. Robofobo

      Robofobo
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Sep 4, 2014
      Messages:
      24
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      3
      Ratings:
      +9
      Shame it’s just do DD audio, even you can’t do DD+. I hope it can do Atmos soon, otherwise there is no fun, Better stick to Apple TV 4k.
       
    7. lemonhead

      lemonhead
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 11, 2002
      Messages:
      666
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      28
      Ratings:
      +31
      Yes, or for Apple to support HDR 10+

      I'd also like Samsung to add a notification pop up (like LG do) to notify you when the TV gets an HDR signal & also a fix for the awful over saturation of app icons.

      Think the chances of Samsung sorting either of those is slim to none though.
       
    8. Robofobo

      Robofobo
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Sep 4, 2014
      Messages:
      24
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      3
      Ratings:
      +9
      Equalizer didn’t work for me too from usa iTunes, Did you try to subscribe HBO from iTunes USA account in Apple TV app on your Samsung tv, wondering does it works with out DNS or VPN.
       
    9. Robofobo

      Robofobo
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Sep 4, 2014
      Messages:
      24
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      3
      Ratings:
      +9
      Very true even info button on standard remote was not working for me to show or confirm that is it 4k HDR running or not. Notification will ideal solution. Wonder if some how we can see video bit rate likewise you can do on Apple TV by turning in developer plackback HUD.
       
    10. Chugga Boom

      Chugga Boom
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Aug 5, 2018
      Messages:
      3
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      6
      Location:
      Scotland
      Ratings:
      +1
      Does anyone know if manufacturers other than Samsung are definitely getting the Apple TV app (as opposed to just Airplay 2 support)?

      This is a quote from a Reuters article:
      "Initially, the app will be available on Apple devices plus 2019 Samsung Electronics Co Ltd smart TVs and some 2018 models. Later this year, customers with certain Vizio, LG and Sony TVs will be able to use the TV app using AirPlay 2."

      That seems to suggest that if I get an LG oled as I intend later this year, I'll still need an apple device to stream from (or need to buy an Apple TV box) if I want to watch content from iTunes.
       
    11. blackmesa8

      blackmesa8
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      May 5, 2004
      Messages:
      1,167
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      83
      Ratings:
      +303
      I don't know about anyone else but its there for me on my Q9FN already. Just press home buttom scroll left twice to apps and press up and it should be to the right under recommended Apps.
       
    12. The Barron

      The Barron
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Mar 28, 2007
      Messages:
      46
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      Aberdeen, UK
      Ratings:
      +1
      Any ideas on how I can get AirPlay to show up on my set? App is installed, airplay appears in the settings, but cannot get the option to come up on my phone or iPad?
       
    13. Duncan1977

      Duncan1977
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Oct 31, 2016
      Messages:
      289
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      Shefford
      Ratings:
      +69
      I literally just played something on my phone, hit the airplay button, it put a code up on my screen which I typed on my phone and that was it...

      I suppose the normal caveats of being connected to the same router (and I believe need to match 2.4 or 5ghz) apply, but - as shown from my screenshot all appears to work.

      Have to say that I'm not convinced that this app will replace the ATV4K, I believe the picture is soft on the app compared to the box itself, but time will tell.

      As luck would have it, the programme I sent via airplay finished - second image is the splash screen on the TV when nothing is playing.
       

      Attached Files:

    14. lbphillips

      lbphillips
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Sep 19, 2005
      Messages:
      2,450
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      66
      Location:
      Bushey
      Ratings:
      +201
      Just tried it on my 55nu8000

      Seems to work ok. Was able to switch between UK and US iTunes account a play films from both.

      Same limitations as noted; can’t pass through Atmos to receiver and film just starts. No menus.
       
    15. BenMcr

      BenMcr
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Sep 9, 2007
      Messages:
      8
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Ratings:
      +0
      You can see if it's showing in HDR or not by pressing the Home Button and scrolling over the Settings cog.

      If it's in HDR mode should show 'HDR' on top of the Picture icon. It does this on my NU8000
       
    16. tolmie

      tolmie
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 10, 2004
      Messages:
      1,196
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      51
      Location:
      Glasgow
      Ratings:
      +94
      I have a samsung 2018 tv and dont have the app, checked for updates and nothing.
       
    17. Duncan1977

      Duncan1977
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Oct 31, 2016
      Messages:
      289
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      Shefford
      Ratings:
      +69
      Hi...

      It's not updates you go to... on the main screen where you can change apps etc. - go to the apps icon on the left, and - the Apple TV icon will appear as a recommended install... once you do that, you'll then need to move its location (if you don't - or, at least in my case, the app was installed, but NOT on the "desktop")
       
    18. tolmie

      tolmie
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 10, 2004
      Messages:
      1,196
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      51
      Location:
      Glasgow
      Ratings:
      +94
      Ye i looked in the apps and nothing was there for it.
       
    19. tolmie

      tolmie
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 10, 2004
      Messages:
      1,196
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      51
      Location:
      Glasgow
      Ratings:
      +94
      Actually think mine is classed as a 2017 tv, gutted.
       
    20. crashcris

      crashcris
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Oct 20, 2016
      Messages:
      248
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      66
      Location:
      london
      Ratings:
      +268
      I wish they'd roll this out to much older sets too, mine is a 2015 js8000, it's a brilliant set, but Samsung only ever seem to update TVs 1.5years old or less. My next TV will not be a Samsung.
       
    21. Duncan1977

      Duncan1977
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Oct 31, 2016
      Messages:
      289
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      Shefford
      Ratings:
      +69
      In fairness to them, that could be down to Apple - even if I think about the ATV4K, how over-powered it's CPU is, maybe they have a minimum spec that has to be accepted?

      Other than that thought, agreed - it is amazing how quickly things get outdated / no longer approved for updates.
       
    22. Derek100

      Derek100
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Apr 2, 2019
      Messages:
      2
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Tunbridge Wells, Kent
      Ratings:
      +0
      I downloaded the app Apple TV successfully to my new Samsung QE49Q70R. Does the Apple TV app replace the Apple TV box (which I couldn't get the TV to recognise anyway!)?
       
    23. hancock54

      hancock54
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 16, 2016
      Messages:
      420
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      uk
      Ratings:
      +185
      Ive got a samsung series 7 I’m not seeing the Apple TV app ?
       
    24. Duncan1977

      Duncan1977
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Oct 31, 2016
      Messages:
      289
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      Shefford
      Ratings:
      +69
      What generation? Is available for N and R... If you have one of those go to the app button on the left and it should be on the recommended apps - you may have to update your firmware to get it though (as it adds a new airplay menu option on the TV menus)
       
    25. hancock54

      hancock54
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 16, 2016
      Messages:
      420
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      uk
      Ratings:
      +185
      Ive tried firmware update nothing there or on the left recommended apps
       
    26. Duncan1977

      Duncan1977
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Oct 31, 2016
      Messages:
      289
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      Shefford
      Ratings:
      +69
      If you're a generation N person, you should be on firmware 1251 - if you are, and if it's not - download it from the Samsung UK website, follow the instructions to dump it onto a USB drive, when you plug in to the TV, do the firmware check again and it should ask you if you want to install from USB - go from there....

      If you have a 2019 (R), the process will be the same, but I don't know what firmware version you'll need to be on
       
    27. hancock54

      hancock54
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 16, 2016
      Messages:
      420
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      uk
      Ratings:
      +185
      Ive looked its 1262
       
    28. Duncan1977

      Duncan1977
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Oct 31, 2016
      Messages:
      289
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      Shefford
      Ratings:
      +69
      so you must be 2019 then...

      On the apps page, go to the magnifying glass, top right of the screen, and put an A... Should come up like this screenshot... If so, download / open from there.
       

      Attached Files:

    Share This Page

    Loading...