News about the new Ultra

Hungry Horace

From avsforum

The new Ultra driver is:

1. still in prototype, development
2. will be close to 14"...it will not be a swap out for current ultra drivers
3. it will likely not have all the tuning options currently on the Ultra, if SVS decides to maintain the box/cylinder sizes close to what they are now.
4. they are hoping to have it ready to show by CES

In an earlier post by Tom V you could by reading between the lines tell that the new Ultra would get a new amp, and it all seems to fit. CES is 8-11 January

:clap:

Nimby

Distinguished Member
14" Ultra drivers?

Don't larger drivers usually mean larger enclosures to maximise the potential benefits?

I'm a 16 cu.metres man myself. :devil:

Hungry Horace

I'm no expert at this, but yes I do belive that a larger driver requires a larger enclosure (actually I'm pretty sure ; )

Then again with an almost 14" driver and other improvements it will certainly place itself someplace in between the Ultra and the Ultra/2 when it comes to performance, and maybe also when it comes to size?

I think it's very exciting that they (maybe) have started entirely from scratch with the new design, I guess that will give Tom and the other more options in what directions to go.

AngelEyes

Distinguished Member
Maybe the lack of tuning options (I guess meaning less ports), will free up enough space in the existing enclosures? Can anyone think of any good reasons to remove the tuning options? ...to be replaced by the room compensation widget maybe?

Someone feel free to correct my innept ponderings? ;)

AngelEyes

Distinguished Member
eviljohn2 said:
I can't think of any real reason to keep the tuning options. There are far more important aspects to subwoofers than how far down they're tuned. :)

I guess not having had a real sub without tuning options, that never really occured to me :rotfl:

AngelEyes

Distinguished Member