Newcomer to video capture/editing. Help Needed!!

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by Daverey2, Nov 12, 2004.

1. Daverey2

Daverey2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +18
    Hi all.

First of all apologies if I'm going over old ground or subjects covered elsewhere, but I'm new to the whole thing and in need of help.

I have recently bought a Panasonic NV-GS11B digital camcorder. I also have a new PC and am interested in learning how to download video from the camcorder to the PC.

At the moment I only have USB connections on the PC, but have just bought firewire card as I believe these are better for capturing video.

Assuming I can install the card and get it working, I have a few quick questions:

i) What sort of firewire cable will I need to connect the camcorder - i keep reading things about different numbers of pins etc?
    ii) Do I have to buy a specific Panasonic cable, or can non-branded ones be OK?
    ii) What software do I need for capturing the video? I run Windows 2000 and would ideally want freeware software - any thoughts?

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks
    Dave

2. Origin

Origin

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    i) You will need a 6-pin > 4-pin cable. The PC end has a flat 6-pin connector, the camcorder has a smaller rounded 4-pin connector.

ii) Any cable will do, provided you don't want one that's very long. Belkin cables are very good.

iii) I'm not aware of any free video editing software, although an upgrade to XP would get you started with the free included MovieMaker2 application. Failing that, Pinnacle Studio 9 is a popular choice - probably works on 2000, but not sure.

3. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,452