1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NEWBIE: Which miniDV camera to buy?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by thumper, Sep 28, 2002.

1. thumper

thumper

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    Ok I'm fairly new to this computer video stuff so I'm going to throw myself at your mercy - last month I shot some footage with a mates camera (Sony) then used videowave and pinnacle studio to edit it together with soundtrack and titles and all that malarky & well ..... I loved every second of it.
    So I want get on the boat as it were.
    This means I would love your advice on which dv camera & any other equipment I might need. Now I have a few boundaries:

a. as I'm only just begining this venture into the world of CV I don't want to spend an absolute fortune in case in 3 months I lose interest and end up with a very expensive shoulderbag

B. ... but in the same way I'd rather not buy rubbish which I need to replace within 3-4 months.

I was hoping to spend around £300-500 on the camera - and as i want to edit the video do I need a firewire card (do these come with cameras?) - or can i simply use USB - here I am a little confused..... - Basically I want to be able to get the video in the best quality to my pc so I can edit it.

anyway I've checked quite a few cameras online, read many reviews but i'm still at a real loss as to which would be the best bet for me .....
    I've been looking at:

Sony DCR-TRV140 Digital8 Camcorder
    Panasonic NV DS29 DV Camcorder
    Sony DCR-TRV240 Digital8 Camcorder
    Canon MV500 DV Camcorder
    Sony DCR-TRV16 Mini DV Camcorder
    Panasonic NV DS30 DV Camcorder

anyone know about these cameras or better equivalents

I've been told by several people that sony's Digital8 format is not true miniDV or something and is a poor format to opt for , is this true .... ?