1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie wants freeview in bedroom!

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Basil65, Jun 20, 2005.

  1. Basil65

    Basil65
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What I want to do is have my freeview box in a remote location and control it in the bedroom. I have co-axial cable already installed from one location to the other. Will the co-ax suffice? How can I remotely control the digi-box? is there a better alternative?

    Enough questions for now I think. Thanks to anyone who replys in advance, thank god you're out there!!!
     
  2. Dr Diversity

    Dr Diversity
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are boxes you can buy from Argos and the like that allow you to do this. All works down the co-ax and you have your remote control for the freeview in the bedroom. Doesn't behave very well through splitters though, try to keep the circuit simple
     
  3. bobcar

    bobcar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    It would help in giving an answer if you could explain why you don't want the freeview box in your bedroom. This would give the best results from a picture quality point of view and is also the cheapest method.
     
  4. HarryAlffa

    HarryAlffa
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't really have an answer, but to be clear, like the last poster implied; I assume in the other room the Freeview box is attached to a TV (via scart for good picture quality) but you want to take advantage of the RF modulator-out on your Freeview box by sending it into your bedroom? And thus want to control it from both rooms?
     
  5. HarryAlffa

    HarryAlffa
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only if your Freeview box sends its picture out through the ariel connector. Some only send their picture out through the scart connector.
     
  6. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Put a cheap FV box on the bedroom TV
     
  7. Richard46

    Richard46
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London E7 UK
    Ratings:
    +120
    With Freeview STB's at £30-£40 thats got to be the way to go, much simpler. Sounds like you already have the co-ax to feed the 2nd box so you just need a splitter.
     

Share This Page

Loading...