• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Newbie wanting to install solar panels. Advice appreciated.

Discombobulate

Distinguished Member
I'm looking to install solar panels on the roof but I'm completely new to this.

Anybody recommend a supplier and type of panels to go for and an approximate cost?

I have a south east facing roof at the back of the house that I was thinking of putting the panels on.

I'm looking to save on my energy bills. I'm also looking to buy an electric car next year so I'm hoping the panels will save on the cost of charging this.

Hopefully this is enough information but let me know if you need anything else.

Thanks in advance.

PSM1

Distinguished Member
Look up some local firms to you.
My 4kW system (max you can get for Feed In Tariff) was £6.5k fully fitted and I had an extra bit added that diverts power to my immersion heater when I am not using it elsewhere. Anything more than that and you are paying too much in my view.
We have a Leaf and during the day in the summer you can be generating enough electricity to fully supply the charger hence charging it for free. This is fine if you are in the house but not so good if you work during the day. I am hoping the home batteries come down in price as this would be a good addition to panels and mean I could be 'off grid' for quite a few months during the spring/summer.

SteveCritten

Distinguished Member
Sunpower panels - a bit pricey - but very efficient. £7.2k
If you want the most efficient then Sanyo/Panasonic are the best at the moment but the difference is probably 1-2% from ones that are 30% cheaper. If there was no feed in tariff I would have gone for the most efficient, as it was I went for the ones with most bang for buck. It depends on your priorities.

SteveCritten