Newbie VHS to DVD

Paul2624

Standard Member
Reaction score
I have recently bought my first DVD Recorder made by Ellion.

I have a collection of VHS tapes that I wish to transfer to DVD but as I am new to this I have no idea how to do it. Is it as simple as connecting my video to the DVD recorder because I tried this on a tv/video combo via scart lead and when I pressed record on the DVD I got an "error" message. I would like to know if it is worth trying to tune in a video and DVD to my set to record or do I require seperate cables etc? I don't want to pay these companies on the net £25 per tape if I can help it!

Many Thanks for your advice

Paul

Hi Paul2624 and welcome to the forum!

Right, with separate units it should be fairly simple to get your VHS onto DVD. But if you are trying to copy a VHS that was bought prerecorded then the chances are it will not work as the tape will be protected with Macrovision. If so then you will probably need to buy a special lead that removes this protection.
Assuming this is not a problem then you will need a scart to scart lead. Connect to the output scart (one of the scarts may be input only) on the VCR to the input scart on the DVD recorder. Set the DVD input to AV or whatever the recorder calls the scart input. Set the quality etc of the DVD recording and press record and play on the VCR.
It Should be as simple as that.

Mark.

Thanks for your help, I only seem to have a "Scart AV out" on my recorder not an Imput one as you suggest. I do have a "Video in" but this looks like it requires some extra leads. Any ideas?

Your help is much appreciated

Paul

According to Amazon, the Ellion has the following connections:

Front Input : S-Video, RCA A/V
Audio I/O : 2ch RCA in x 2/ out x 2
Video I/O : Video in x 2 / out x 1
S-VHS I/O : S-Video in x 2 /out x 1
Component Video Out : (Y/Pb/Pr) out x 1
Digital Out : Optical x 1/Coaxial x 1
Scart : Out x 1

So you need a Scart to three phono's in lead:

Maplins VA24B