Newbie TV over Satellite Queries

Meridean

Novice Member
Reaction score
Newbie TV over Satellite Queries

Hi Everyone,

Sorry for the Newbie questions I have tried searching and found lots of info but they all expect someone to have already started and understand the basics. I need to understand how to get started as a complete beginner.

My Objective:

I am moving into a new home which only has a TV point in the Living Room along with a Sky Input. I believe the current owners have Sky Q with 2 other mini boxes.

What I would like to know is how can I use the existing Satellite Dish to receive TV and then distribute this signal to about 8 different TV's using Wifi.

Most of the TV's are Smart TV's and therefore can get subscriptions such as Disney+, Netflix and Prime on the TV's themselves so it is really about getting TV (Freeview\Freesat type signals via the satellite dish)

Questions:

1) - What would I need to achieve this objective?

2) - How do I tell what Dish I have?

3) - what would I need to do in order to achieve my aim above? (I don't really want to install new cables if I can help it.)

I am open to all options and am not averse to technical options which require installation or configuration. Happy to consider everything.

Looking for all advice, links, guides for a newbie just starting out.
Thank you in advance for any assistance.

Last edited:
To do that with no cables and wireless only can be done but you will be limited to watching one channel at a time as clients all share the same server with just one tuner.

So for example any low end PC
  • USB DVB-S tuner
  • TVheadend as TV server
  • Emby media server running on PC as media server
  • Emby using Tvheadend plugin to give it access to the TV/DVB-S.
  • Plex will also do the same and its possible to get commercial NAS like ones from Synology that can run all of the above.