Newbie to the AV world building a HTPC with Samsung 8000 LED looking for advice

R46

Standard Member
Well i'll start by saying hello and letting you guys know that I am a complete novice when its comes to AV equipment, even more so the complicated way's of connecting the whole system so it works as it should and to the best of its ability!

My current setup is very limited and shameful to say the least :blush::(

T.V - a 28CRT SONY Trinitron 100hz flat screen TV (behemoth) which given its dues has been absolutely faultless for the best part of 10years an only cost me £400 back then so I have well and truely got my money's worth out of it:smashin:

DVD - PS2

PC - AMD Athlon 64 X2 3.1ghz, 2gb DDR2 800 PNY Ram, 250GB Maxtor SATA drive, PNY Nvidia GeForce 9400GT 512mb running on a ASUS M2N 32 SLI Deluxe MOBO
The sound is from a Creative Audigy 4 Pro 7.1 surround setup

So I have been wanting to upgrade things for a while now and have put a bit of a dent in this months wage packet:oops:.........much to the mrs disapproval:boring::suicide:

This setup is going to be for the bedoom so I didnt want to go totally overboard on TV size so after hours of reading up about the differing Samsung models and along with there looks I just knew it had to be LED:D

So on saturday armed with all my new found knowledge about LED Samsungs I trawled the internet till I found a supplier who had one in stock............2hrs later it was mine and in the back seat of my car!

Samsung UE32C8000 LED SAMSUNG UE32C8000 LED TELEVISION - available from Superfi UK Visit http://www.superfi.co.uk/index.cfm/page/moreinfo.cfm/product_id/6624 for details and I must admit it is a very sexy piece of kit!

My room isnt too big and where I had in mind for the TV a 32" would be perfect so that was size!
Now I have always liked the LED panels purely on asthetics (wrong I know but meh its gotta look good) and had had no personal experience of them up until now!