Newbie to NAS

dazzlex

Hi everyone.

I'm very new to NAS and looking to purchase one for storing and playing the following on.
I currently have loads of films on some external hardrives, and I'm getting fed up with how many I have and I want a better solution.

Films
Full fat 4k HDR films that I have downloaded, and also ones I have ripped with Make MKV.
1080p + 720p downloads and rips.
Codecs - H.264, HEVC, MPEG-4, MPEG-2,
Formats- MKV, AVI
Audio - DTS, DTS-X, Dolby Atmos, DD, DD+

Music
Various music I've downloaded or ripped from CD's
Format - FLAC, AAC, WAV, MP3

TV
Panasonic FZ802 OLED
Soundbar
LG SN11RG

My question that I have is what would be a good NAS to put these on and stream to my TV or Soundbar OR if it can be plugged straight in via HDMI ?
How would I go about setting the NAS up and playing/streaming the files
Would I need something like Plex or Kodi to play these or perhaps send them to something like an Nvidea Shield Pro?

Does it require a super fast broadband speed?

Any help or advise would be very useful.

Many thanks 😊

Last edited:

mushii

Distinguished Member
Something like the Synology DS418 Play would be ideal for your needs. The Play variants are optimised for movie streaming and transcoding.

Plex is generally the easiest way to do this. For 4K movie streaming it will need to be hard wired into a network and whatever you are looking to playback on should be wired too.
If your TV is pretty new then it maybe OK running a Plex client if it’s not then you may need an endpoint device like a Shield or a Linux Media Player.

dazzlex

Thanks for the reply Mushii

My TV and Soundbar.
TV
Panasonic FZ802 OLED
Soundbar
LG SN11RG

By "hardwired" do you mean connected to the WiFi?
So would I connect it like so.
NAS to NVidea Shield then to TV or Soundbar?
My TV won't play DTS audio files ( which I need ) as about 50% of the film's i have are DTS audio.
So would I connect the NVidea Shield to the soundbar, and let that send the video to the TV?