Newbie to NAS: help required to set up a N54L as a media server

RichD1

Novice Member
I've inherited an HP N54L which has been used for film back ups. I believe it has been configured as RAID1 with 4 x 3TB drives. I'd like to convert this into a media server on my network to stream music to my analogue hi-fi via a suitable streamer/DAC.

I've read the FAQ's section on here but it doesn't appear to answer my particular question.

I'm not sure what OS it is currently running but do I need to install something like Plex Media Server or similar to manage the music files before I can think about streaming it to my chosen streamer/DAC?

I also have a Chromecast Audio and a DACmagic which feeds into my old NAIM system. Would the Chromecast app. on my iPad provide the control between NAS and CCA?

Richard

Helix Hifi

I’m not familiar with that NAS, but as you know NAS is an excellent option to run as media/music server too your network, thus eliminating a CD player. Frankly I’m no expert. But there should not be any problem using your iPad as a remote to control your music. That’s pretty common these days. A NAS setup is connected to your router, then depending on which operating system you use, in this case Apple, you may need to download the Samba file sharing protocol to share your files wirelessly to your network. And your router needs to accept Samba. Good luck.

Last edited:

jamieu

I'm not sure what OS it is currently running but do I need to install something like Plex Media Server or similar to manage the music files before I can think about streaming it to my chosen streamer/DAC?
Yes, that should all work fine and would be the most sensible route as it allows you to index and manage your music collection centrally.

Plex should work fine and installs on most platforms. Your phone/laptop becomes a remote control, with your music being streamed from the Plex running on the NAS to the Chomecast directly.