1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie to DVD recorders, What are the facts I need to know?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Duster, May 24, 2003.

1. Duster

Duster
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I'm a newbie to DVD recorders, what are the facts I need to know?
    The main uses of the DVD recorder would be to copy my DV Camcorder footage on to DVD.

Thanks for any help.

2. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    You may want to do a search of this forum on this subject as it has been discussed extensively.

Panasonic, JVC, Toshiba, Samsung and Hitachi support DVD-RAM and DVD-R. These machines have a Hybrid Variable Bitrate which optimises the data rate for each scene giving the best picture. This coupled with the Flexible Bitrate, which calculates the optimum data rate, for the space left on the disk. DVD-R is the most compatible format with existing DVD players but has minimal editting facilities. DVD-RAM is a very flexible format (i.e. editting, timeslip, chasing playback) but has very limited compatibility. Currently exclusive to the DVD-RAM/-R camp are Hard Disk Drive/DVD Recorder combos (such as the HS2) which allow all the benefits of RAM disks on the HDD and allow dubbing to DVD-R. If you can afford it (the units are between £550 and £600) this is by far the best option to go for. DVD-RAM and DVD-R are 'official' formats supported by the DVD Forum.