Newbie to DAB radio here

Back door Dave

Novice Member
Hi Guys.. Newbie here with a question and hopefuly a simple fix.

Recently purchased a DAB receiver stand alone unit and out door aerial.
The reception is rubbish in my garage so I stuck the aerial up outside and ran a coax to the F connector.
Its an omnidirectional aerial that is supposed to be positioned vertically but I found better reception was with it positioned horizontally pointing toward thee North East which might be Ally Palace.
So I can now get great dab fadio in nearly all stations.
The signal strength is great but the problem is that when I scan up to the end of the channel list like Union Jack and Virgin I cant received them but the signal strength shows nearly maximum..

Any ideas ??

Rodders53

Distinguished Member
ALL DAB transmissions are VERTICALLY polarised. Put that antenna vertical!

What is the antenna you have bought? (Hopefully not one with an amplifier in).
What is the receiver you bought?

DAB is actually designed to work indoors in areas like London especially, with reception from more than one transmitter site working to, effectively, reinforce signals. (Especially useful on the move in vehicles)>

AP is a DAB site, along with CP or Croydon on some ensembles, plus other microsites for some (e.g. BT Tower).

The aerial might need 'adjusting' in position to receive some of the problem stations? It's unlikely that too much signal is overloading the tuner but may be worth considering if antenna relocation doesn't help (amplified aerials are :censored:) ?

Back door Dave

Novice Member
ALL DAB transmissions are VERTICALLY polarised. Put that antenna vertical!

What is the antenna you have bought? (Hopefully not one with an amplifier in).
What is the receiver you bought?

DAB is actually designed to work indoors in areas like London especially, with reception from more than one transmitter site working to, effectively, reinforce signals. (Especially useful on the move in vehicles)>