1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

newbie sub question

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by jason99, Feb 1, 2005.

1. jason99

jason99

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone
    Sorry for what may be obvious questions, I am new to this!

Do I need a sub? My fronts are MS908s which claim to go down to 35Hz. My system has no sub, so clearly I am not hearing the LFE channel, but am I missing out? Is the LFE channel repeated in the fronts? If so I should be hearing it assuming my 908s have the same LF response as a typical sub.

Any advice greatly appreciated, Jason99.

2. PJTX100

PJTX100

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +563
    If you have a 5.1 AV amp then you will be missing out on low frequencies big time, even if you have the amp set to channel the bass to the main speakers. Even with pure stereo the weight which a good sub adds to the bottom end is significant.

Whether this means you "need" a sub is personal choice. :)

...PJ

3. jason99

jason99

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi PJ
    Thanx for the advice, I get the picture :smashin:
    Presumably when you write "the amp set to channel the bass to the main speakers" you mean have fronts set to large? I've read that that sends LFE through to the fronts in addition to the normal front signals but not sure if that's true.
    Cheers, Jason99.

4. KHCC

KHCC

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10
    Mornin'