Newbie - streaming help required!

harrythebastock

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi folks,

Im a noob to the idea of streaming content from my Mac to my TV. I have a Sony 40" LCD HD TV, Sony BluRay player BDV-E280 with a Sony wi-fi dongle and my home network is using a Belkin Play 600N router.

I can get content onto the BluRay player such as LoveFilm, BBC I-Player etc with no hassles via wi-fi but what i want to be able to do is;
A: to share or stream content from my Mac to the Sony BluRay player. Question is, how do I do that?

B: The Belkin has a USB port in which I have a 500GB HD with movies and music on. Ideally it would be amazing if I could get the Sony to see this HD on the network and simply play the content on screen...

Any ideas, comments and ramblings would be greatly received...

Harry

Last edited:
The best way to do it is to use Serviio which is a cross platform DLNA server so there's a Mac version. Sony have very poor media support on their players so you will want a transcoding DLNA server like Serviio in place to make all the media play properly and transcoding require a PC.

Also on Serviio main screen were it lists IP addresses be sure to apply the Sony profiles to the IP of the TV and Blu-ray player this tells Serviio what formats are supported and what arent so it knows when to transcode and when not to.

For DVD's and Blu-ray the best way to prep them for streaming through DLNA is to rip with MakeMKV which will output the main movie to a single file, Serviio can then transcode this making it playable although transcoding Blu-ray will take some serious CPU power.

The Belkin would need a DLNA server built into the router in order to stream media, also the media would have to be natively compatible with the formats Sony supports.