Newbie speaker connection help

bigtel7

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm after some help on the best way to connect my amplifier to my speakers and sub.

I have just bought:
Yamaha RXV483 - Yamaha RXV483 (Black)
Canton Movie 75 - Canton MOVIE 75 (Black)
QED Silver Anniversary speaker cable QED SILVER ANNIVERSARYxt

The speaker cable is too thick to fit into the holes of the speakers.

I'm guessing using Banana plugs is a better idea to connect to the amp? Are these easy to fit to the wire?

What's my best option to connect to the speakers? Ideally, I need like a mini banana plug with a 90-degree fitting to get into the hole.

Also, the current way I've connected the sub, is this ok or is there a better way?

As you can tell this is my first time at doing this!

Any help appreciated.

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_5788.JPG
    IMG_5788.JPG
    1.4 MB · Views: 99
  • IMG_5791.JPG
    IMG_5791.JPG
    1.6 MB · Views: 112
  • IMG_5787.JPG
    IMG_5787.JPG
    1.5 MB · Views: 123
  • IMG_5789.JPG
    IMG_5789.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 131
  • IMG_5790.JPG
    IMG_5790.JPG
    2.5 MB · Views: 111
If you prise the red and black plastic bungs out of the ends of the speaker terminal connectors on the amp and on the speakers, standard banana plugs can be used/inserted which should accommodate the speaker wire you have.

Sub cable is ok as long as it's in the sub out phono on the Yamaha and on an in phono on the sub. If there are L & R inputs on the sub either is ok though most tend to use L.

Last edited:
For the speakers, you can pair down the thickness of cable until it fits. Maybe remove about 25% of the strands, twist really tightly and see if it will squeeze in. If not, take out a few more.