1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie sound help please

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by mooro1973, Mar 29, 2004.

  1. mooro1973

    mooro1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    791
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +166
    Can I get 5.1 sound out from this?

    My Pc is new and has reatek ac97 5.1 on board.

    The outputs look like spdif round jacks.

    I am a bit confused:some posts here state that sp/dif is the same as optical/coax, others that I need a sound card with optical/coax out to get 5.1

    My amp has optical and coaxial in (i use the optical for my tosh dvd player).

    Is there anyway to get 5.1 sound to my amp using just the spdif out, given that the board is supposedly "5.1 onboard" ?


    Cheers!

    john
     
  2. mooro1973

    mooro1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    791
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +166
    These are the ports...
     

    Attached Files:

  3. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Set the Motherboard to pass SPDIF out (usually done in the BIOs screen, usually press the "Delete" key at startup to get into the BIOS....) and connect the "SPDIF out" socket on your Motherboard to the Digital in on your amp/receiver using an RCA to RCA cable. Now you should be in business.......


    Sean G.
     
  4. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +181
    spdif is just a term for a digital connection I think it's Sony/Philips Digital InterFace or something like that, so yeah you just need a coax in on your amp as already said :)
     
  5. mooro1973

    mooro1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    791
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +166
    Thanks guys.

    Will look for a cable in maplins next time I'm in.

    mooro
     
  6. mooro1973

    mooro1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    791
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +166
    Thanks guys.

    Got a reasonably high grade 10m coaxial cable from germany via ebay for 14 quid (delivered!).

    As you said, I now have 5.1 out via the pc to the amp, dd and dts no problem.

    Thanks again-I nearly bought a 60 quid usb sound card!

    mooro
     

Share This Page

Loading...