1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

newbie Sky + Q

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by snort, Dec 1, 2004.

  1. snort

    snort
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Simple question - If you are watching Sky, can you record another channel at the same time?
    Read all the ads and blurb - yes you can watch a recording and record at the same time but I cant find answer to my original q anywhere? :lease:

    ta

    Paul
     
  2. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    yes you can , you can record something say on sky one and watch something else on sky sports, or you can record 2 separate channels at the same time and watch something which you recorded recorded earlier
     
  3. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I'll second that. You can record two programmes at once, but you either have to watch one of them, or watch a pre-recorded programme. The Sky+ box has 2 tuners, but only 1 decoder, and all programmes are stored in encoded format.
     
  4. mark raeburn

    mark raeburn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Are they still encoded once recorded?

    I guess I was wondering whether it's possible to use the copy function to output to the VCR scart, while watching another channel via TV scart?

    Cheers

    Mark
     
  5. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871

    as far as i know thats not possible when you are using the copy function, the box plays out the copied programme as if you are watching it, you can still recors other programmes at the same time though
     
  6. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    In the early days of Sky+, people thought that they could record some PPV movies onto the hard drive, then take they drive out and put it in a PC, and watch the movies for free. They were wrong, because they're encoded.


    Unfortunately not. I tend to do my transfers to DVDR overnight, because you can't watch anything else while you're doing it.
     
  7. snort

    snort
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks people - wish my panasonic would've done that - live and learn eh?
    Paul.
     

Share This Page

Loading...