Newbie Sky+ (and DVD recording) question

A

astep70uk

OK, I'm a newbie so please be gentle. I've been looking at getting sky+ for a while now but can't decide between the 160 or the standard. I'm looking to record (mainly kids programmes) onto sky+ and then archive to DVD with DVD recorder. From reading the forums I understand that you have to watch your recordings on sky+ to be able to record them onto DVD. Thing is, I don't want to sit and watch a full series of 'Mr Benn'!
Also, am I worth spending the extra cash getting a sky+ 160 box when i'm going to archive everything off to DVD?? or should I save the money and get a better DVD recorder?? :confused: Thanks in advance!

I've been a Sky+ plus owner for a number of years and have the old version of the smaller hard drive. If you have the facility to record from Sky+ to DVD I see no reason why you need the bigger hard drive.
I've never tried recording but I don't think you have to watch a program before to drop it down onto video or DVD, I would be very surprised if this was the case.
Next year a new version of Sky+ is coming our with HD capabilities :clap: :clap: :clap: , and therefore a massive hard disk. My personal plan is to upgrade to this a soon as it's available.
So unless you have no interest in high def TV my advice would be the cheaper version to tide you over until Sky+HD comes along

Hope that helps :thumbsup:

If yr just gonna be recording from time to time, with the intention of archiving, a DVD/HDD recorder is your best bet. I had to make the same decision myself last xmas....

Of course, you lose the facility to record one sky channel/watch another, but the bonus is not having to sit thru your recordings again whilst you archive them to disk.

If you can afford it, however, get both :)

Thanks. Can you recommend a DVD/HDD recorder which isn't too expensive?? How would this work? Would I just copy programmes from the sky+ HD to the DVD/HDD recorder hard drive? :confused: