1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

newbie seeks enlightenment

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Guy Clifford, Feb 4, 2003.

1. Guy Clifford

Guy Clifford

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm just getting into this HCPC thing and would like to ask a couple of questions before I spend too much money!

Firstly, I plan to build a box using the nebula DTT card so I can use it as a PVR. I would output by s-vhs to my 32 inch widescreen mitsubishi TV. I get the impression however that most people are using projectors, TFTs or monitors. What kind of quality can you get by outputting to a standard TV and is it likely to be equivalent to 'normal' television? Would surfing the internet be feasible on a TV ?

Secondly, everyone seems to use ATI cards. Are these the best cards for the job and why? Assuming that price isn't an issue, which one would you recommend?

Many thanks( and apologies if this has been covered before!)

Guy

2. Comer

Comer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +82
    No advantage, as far as picture quality is concerned, will be gained from using a PC to feed your TV via svideo. You would be far better of using a stand alone dvdplayer. Using a PC with a monitor or projector gives a much cleaner brighter image (using VGA or DVI output) because you can get the pc to match the resolution of the display device and also, it outputs a progressive signal. Using the TV as a monitor when browsing the Net would not be a success either as the resolution on a standard TV is much lower than a standard computer monitor. The PC desktop and any computer application you run (such as Internet Explorer) would in fact be very difficult to read on your TV.

Sorry, but I would see no real point with using a PC for the setup you described

Conor

3. feet14

feet14
    Standard Member

Products Owned: