Newbie Running advice (Home Treadmill)

biggy7

Hi All

So about 2.5 weeks about I bought a Reebok Jet 100 Treadmill for the family to use

my wife and I have been hooked and use it daily before breaky and work

I'm a total newbie to running and a little over weight, on day 1 I could manage about 1 min at 5mph before dying

Fast forward to today..

I now do:

5mins warm up walk at 3mph
10mins jog at 5mph
Alternate 1min 3mph and then 2 mins at 5mph
then final 5mins warm down at 3mph

Total 40mins and my Apple watch says im burning around 500 active cals and im dripping in sweat.

I feel so much better for it, my weight is going down and we are eating more healthier.

Keeping it simple for the time being, I guess my first aim would be to do 5k none stop.

shall I keep on this regime? any other advice? we run a soon as we wake up before breakfast, do you recommend i eat something to give me more energy before hand?

Thanks!

finbaar

They're lots of programs for you to follow that will be suitable for treadmills. Have a look at Runners World for some examples. Lots of others around as well such as the couch to 5k which has a good app
Honestly you don't need to eat before you run, particularly the runs you are doing. Also running after you eat is hard and you need time to 'let it go down' if you know what I mean. So you'd have to get up a lot earlier or run at a different time.

JimmyMac

Distinguished Member
I cannot eat before a run, tried a few times, different fuels like oats or a banana, tried various times between eating and running and everytime it felt horrible. I run far better on nothing

alex30

Hi All

So about 2.5 weeks about I bought a Reebok Jet 100 Treadmill for the family to use

my wife and I have been hooked and use it daily before breaky and work

I'm a total newbie to running and a little over weight, on day 1 I could manage about 1 min at 5mph before dying

Fast forward to today..

I now do:

5mins warm up walk at 3mph
10mins jog at 5mph