1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie resolution question

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by DaveP, Sep 8, 2005.

  1. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried a search but nearly every thread seems to mention resolution at some point!

    My question is: Is there a PDP that has a resolution of 1280x720, 1366x768, 1280x768 or any other PC based widescreen resolution?

    I've got used to 1280x768 on my 26" LCD but I'm now looking to replace my 36" Sony CRT with a 42" screen. All the plasmas I've looked at have odd shaped pixels and I really want to connect my PC to this as well as the usual things like Sky, DVD player etc.

    Has anyone connected their PC to a 42" screen and if so what res are you running. I get 1:1 pixel mapping on the LCD but it looks like I won't be able to achieve this with a plasma. Surely running 1024x768 on a w/s plasma panel will give odd shaped circles and short fat people!

    Thanks

    Dave
     
  2. bishman

    bishman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4,902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    hertford
    Ratings:
    +172
    I don't think there are any plasmas that have your required native resolution. At least not in the 42" and under sizes. I believe that pretty much all of them use rectangular pixels. 1024x768 on the panasonic 42" vieras, same for the Pioneer 43" and Hitachi use 1024x1024.
     
  3. madshi

    madshi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Ratings:
    +62
    You'll have to go 50", then you'll get 1366x768 (Panasonic, Fujitsu).
     
  4. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Only if you are using symmetrical pixels ! Actually, it isn't a big a problem as you imagine - most plasma screens work very well with their internal scalers.
     
  5. gbech

    gbech
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +0
    Little bit confused by the resolutions here, if a hitachi has a resolution of 1024 x 1024 then how does it play 1080i movies that are 19??x1080 :confused:
     
  6. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys, I particularly like this answer. I needed a good excuse to convince the wife we needd a 50"!

    But seriously, if I bought a 1024x768 panel could I connect my PC to it running at say 1600x900 and would it scale accordingly?

    Dave
     
  7. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    It re-scales them. A plasma has to accept a range of inputs, ranging from (480i/60 - 525 lines NTSC video) up to 1080p, and will re-scale everything that is not native. However, do not assume that you can feed anything in, and it will re-scale - you'll have to refer to spec sheets on individual screens to see the limitations.
     
  8. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +89
    The Hitachi effectively overscans when fed a 1080i signal so you lose some of the top and bottom of the image. It scales the image horizontally as do all plasmas that don't have a 1920*1080 resolution.

    John
     
  9. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Do the newer Hitachi's still do that ? I know my 5300 does.
     
  10. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    Didn't you mean to say asymmetrical pixels? AFAIK any 4:3 resolution on a 16:9 display that does not have a 16:9 pixel ratio will distort the image.
    E.g. if you fed a 1024x768 into a 16:9 plasma with a native resolution of 1024x768 then the image will be stretched like DaveP suspected since the pixels are not square.

    I also suggest to check the specifications of displays with 1366x768 pixels (or higher) - not all accept the native resolution of the display via the PC inputs, in particular if the refresh rate is quite high.
     
  11. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Indeed, now you mention it, I do recall seeing a 1366x768 panel (50") that said PC resolution was 1024x768. Maybe PS could get round it?

    Oh dear, it looks like I'll have to be going back to the LCD forum!

    Dave
     
  12. madshi

    madshi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Ratings:
    +62
    AFAIK the commercial Panasonic plasmas (e.g. 50phd7) accept native rate at 60Hz.
     
  13. bishman

    bishman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4,902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    hertford
    Ratings:
    +172
    The same way a Panasonic does with 1024x768, they scale the image to fit.
     
  14. gbech

    gbech
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +0
    So would i be right in thinking that with the current 1080i plasma's around you can't display a 1920x1080 movie file without it losing a lot of the detail due to scaling down to 1024x768 or 1024x1024 in the case of the hitachi's?
     
  15. Jim_Fear

    Jim_Fear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,799
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +59
    Just a question...are we talkign ATi or nVidia? The latest ATi driers actually give you HD resolutions in the Catalyst Control Center, haven't poked about with the nVidia drivers so I cant say about those
     
  16. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just changed to nVidia. It also supports the HDTV standards, along with all the others too (EDTV, SDTV etc)

    Dave
     

Share This Page

Loading...