1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie question

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by deanogtv, Dec 3, 2004.

1. deanogtv

deanogtv

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    First off great forum but please bare with me as I'm new to the whole DVD/ Home Cinema world. I've just bought my fist apartment and decided I want a half desent entertainment system. After doing a bit reading up on , I decided to bite the bullet and buy the Panasonic Scht520.
    Question 1 is, can I get the system coded to turn it into a multi-region player, if so where.
    Question 2, Would it be worth up-grading the speaker wires that come with the package to something a bit better.

Any advance would help.

Deano

2. Judders

Judders
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Deano,

Have you already bought? If not, I'd suggest buying one that's already modded, like this http://www.unbeatable.co.uk/CatalogueItem_23393.html

If you have already purchased, I think you'll need to find someone who can chip it, cos I don't think they're hackable via the remote. Obviously I could be wrong there though. :)

As for speaker cables, I think it's always worth upgrading them - if you've got the cash to spare. Manufacturers don't tend to ship their kit with top-notch cables cos a) keeps the cost down b) they know darn well you'll replace em anyway!

Hope that helps.

Jud.

3. nathanhill69

nathanhill69

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +19