Newbie question

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by treadstone1, Aug 31, 2004.

1. treadstone1

treadstone1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone,

I'm new to HTPC so I'm looking for some help. I wanted to know how I can get started on watching Hi Def on my pc. My hardware list is as follows:
    3.2 gig processor..P4
    1 gig of ram
    toshiba dvd rom SD m1802
    ATI 9800 pro 128 meg ram
    22" nec fp1350 monitor
    winxp professional
    I believe the rig I have right now would be enough to play 720p at least. Do I need to download certain software? Any advice to help me get started would be great. Thank you. :thumbsup:

2. aligebes

aligebes

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    You can play Hi Def now, I can play HDTV files on my Athlon2500xp(333fsb) and that only has a Geforce FX5200 card. On my system though, It does not like HDTV playback if there are other programs running.

I use VLC which you can get from www.versiontracker.com/windows and I can watch Euro1080 which is a HiDef TV channel being broadcast from the Astra Sat at 19.2e.

I plan on upgrading my processor, ram and graphics card for more stability soon. You don't mention what size HD you have, you will need a big drive if you use the HDTV newsgroup.

Is this what you mean by starting to watch HiDef? I reread your post, but could not decide if you meant watching HiDef TV or just HiDef file playback.

Hope at least some of this helps.

3. treadstone1

treadstone1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    :oops: I should have been more specific. I'm interested in watching dvd's and video clips in hd. Here's another question. Does the dvd/video clip need to be formatted in hd resolution? :confused:

4. Peter Parker

Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,773