Newbie question regarding dubbing from HDD.

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by wolfie1, Dec 18, 2006.

1. wolfie1

wolfie1
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all,

I have a Panasonic DMR-EH60D HDD recorder. I have had it a while, and have just come to try and dub a 2 hour programme from the HDD to a DVD-R disc to loan to a friend.

However, in the dubbing setup sequence, the display says that the programme is too long to fit the "destination" (i.e the recording is 2 hours 4 mins long and the disc is "2 hours"). How can I dub this programme, or indeed any programme longer than 2 hours?

When I bought my disks, they all seemed to be 2 hour disks on display, although there were a couple of double-sided options. Should I have bought the double-sided disks? Does this mean that the disc would need to be turned over?

Told you I was a newbie!

Thanks for any help on dubbing.

2. aekostas

aekostas

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +52
    You need to change the dubbing mode to FR. Unfortunately this means that you will be re-encoding the material, which in principle affects the quality.

3. ROYOLD

ROYOLD

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +296
    My EH60D will certainly go over the 2 hour limit for an SP HDD recording. On the dubbing screen for a 2 hours recording on SP in the Play List it gives a percentage of around 95%. I have successfully recorded several discs on SP at 2 hours 04 minutes. Maybe you have edited this recording in several different sessions instead of just one continuous session (which causes problems for dubbing).

If you recode an SP recording to FR then you will only be able to dub in real time.

A solution maybe to split your recording into two separate sections for high speed recording on two discs. Note though that once you split the recording you will NOT be able to re-combine it.