1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie Question!! Black poor performance

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Tasslehoff, Oct 18, 2005.

1. Tasslehoff

Tasslehoff

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

Im very sorry if this has been asked befrore, but I am quite new to the internet.

I have recently bought a Phillips 42" Plasma screen, kind of on impulse. I have set it up using the THX optimal settings included on the Star wars disks.

I notice when the scene is very dark or there is a patch of black, I can see what I can only describe as a shimmering but this is very noticable.

Is is a facet of Plasma as a whole or can I reduce this ?

Many thanks in advance

2. Badger0-0

Badger0-0

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    I don't want to sink your boat, but it could be down to the model you have bought.
    A bit more info might help, ie model??

Can you take it back? should be your priority, ATM, because you might be able to get a lot more for your money :smashin:

I'm sure the chaps on here will sort you out with advice, don't worry :thumbsup:

3. Tasslehoff

Tasslehoff

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    It was the Phillips 42PF3320. Its the current special offer at Richer Sounds where I purchased it.

http://ws3.richersounds.com/splashpage.php?SID=b4b20184141611131797b8bf6fbb8e96

It is connected via the DVI cable that came with my DVD player. I purchsed the Oppo DVD player after reading this board. Unfortunatly I did not read this board before I bought the TV :(

I was hoping it was not the TV.

The problem in more detail,

When I get black in any area on the screen I can see very very noticiable shimmering. So if the screen was totaly black it would look like very dark water in the wind!