Newbie question about setting up a new LCD TV

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by darrenj1471, Feb 4, 2009.

Tags:
  1. darrenj1471

darrenj1471

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello

Firstly apologies as this kind of thread has probably been posted a thousand times but a search of forum didnt really help me.

I am totally new to HDTV's. Last night I purchased an LG 37LG3000 model TV.

The manual mentions almost nothing about set up so I literally just put stand together, turned on TV and let it do an autotune.

The picture for regular TV is pretty awful, this may be aerial related but I plugged my freeview box (thought tv had built in freeview but cannot work how where) via a scart lead and all channel are unwatchable, they are like intermittent digital signals and stutter and flicker etc

The WORST problem I have is DVD playback. Again I have used a Scart cable to connect our DVD player (which is rather dated) to my TV hoping to at least see a good picture with a DVD.
    Its AWFUL, the opening credits and literally a blur like double vision or being really drunk. Everyone has 4 eyes and the picture is generally rubbish.

PLEASE HELP, Ive seen notes from people saying 'Oh yeah thats normal as its not a HD broadcast/dvd' but in no way can this be considered normal. I cannot beleive you can buy a new TV and have to throw away all my DVD's because they are unwatchable.

Have I missed some obvious set up steps ?
    Am I used totally the wrong type of connections ?
    Is my TV faulty and I should take it back?

Please help, thanks in advance

2. simon11

simon11

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    If it's that bad I would take it back.
    You should get a reasonable picture from switch on.

3. TylerDurden

TylerDurden

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +622
    Some basic pointers here

4. Bob Staines

Bob Staines
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: