Newbie question about Hard drives & PS5 ecosystem

Bidge

Standard Member
I'm new to the Sony ecosystem, last time my household owned (or played) a Sony console was the original release Greystation. So I'm working on a zero knowledge basis as to how Sony consoles currently do things.

I was looking to expand the hard drive capacity of the PS5 we managed to get a hold of, and have just discovered that external storage is only for PS4 games (very weird decision by Sony for mind).

Based on this info, I have some questions that I can't find the answer for.

I don't intend to subscribe to either PS Plus or Now, so this may or may not have a knock on effect on what I am looking to find out.

PS5 games: When you run out of internal storage, I guess you will need to delete the game from the PS5 to create space for other games, but will this then kill off any save data, meaning if I re-installed a PS5 game I would then need to start from scratch? What is the actual solution as to when you fill up your internal drive when it comes to PS5 games?

As long as its a USB 3 drive, I see you use both SSD and HDD drives within 250gb to 8TB. Is the only difference in game terms just the loads times?

NatTheGooner

If you put your PS4 games on an external USB 3 drive instead of the internal storage you’ll still get great load times. You won’t lose your save data if you delete a PS5 game to free up space it gets saved to the cloud and you can also save to a USB device too.
I bought an empty USB drive caddy for about £20 on Amazon that auto sleeps and stuck an old 1TB drive in there - it works superbly. I compared running a PS4 game on the internal storage and then moved it to the external and it seemed just as fast to me.

Bidge

Standard Member