1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie - please help rear projector US Screens vs UK

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by OneDesi, Aug 16, 2005.

1. OneDesi

OneDesi

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +237
    Hi

I am new to rear projector screens and a friend and I were debating whether we could import a DLP rear projector (50"+) from the states and actually use it in the UK with terrestrial and DVD (reason for import would be size vs cost - size does matter :) .

My view is that after accomodating power supplies I should be able to connect my DVD player and set prog scan (hence negating any NTSC/PAL issues) via the digital outputs HDMI or the like and all is well. I also think I should be able to convert sky/freeview to work on this screen via some new fangled box?

Am I miles off the mark or not - please help as I am really confused :confused:

Also are there any large lcd's out there in the UK only?

2. LV426

LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,908
    Off the mark.

You mentioned terrestrial TV. It's highly unlikely that a US TV will receive UK transmissions.

It's equally unlikely that it will handle the 625 line 50hz structure of PAL TV - by whatever source - tuner, set top box, DVD player. Some possibly do , but in general US stuff is very single standard.

DVD players will output a signal, by whatever means, which has a refresh rate that matches the disc = 50hz PAL, 60hz NTSC. Again, it's probable that a US import won't handle 50hz.

And then there's cost. Have you taken account of import duty and VAT? And the "difficulty" you might experience if anything does go wrong with it?

Basically, this is unlikely to be a good idea.

3. OneDesi

OneDesi

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +237