1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Newbie]Pc Based Home Cinema Setup

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by didjerama, Jul 5, 2003.

1. didjerama

didjerama

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey,

Right i wanna start to put together a home (small) cinema setup over the rest of this yr. I have been thinking about getting a shuttle for a while. Well im a media student and a feel as one i need a good setup to watch media with :D.

Ok. So..
    I think i'll get a shuttle as i want to backup my dvd's onto a hard drive and play them tho a tv. Can i do this, i know you can use s-video out but how and whats the best vid card for it?

Also i want to get a good 5.1 Dolby digital amp to go with a good speaker setup.. Any recommendations?

Can i rig up a sky/sky + box to my pc?

Also any other tips i need when cabling and putting to gether a setup, this is only the planning/working out stage.

Cheers for any help

Didjerama.

2. buns

buns
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    what are you intent as your display device?

ad

3. didjerama

didjerama

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    i was think a 24-28" widescreen tv as i only have a small room (6'X 8') And a 15" tft.

4. buns

buns
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    ok, well the first thing to remember is that s-vid outs on the video cards are generally of poor quality and really guite noisy. The only time i would be willing to use the s-vid out would be for the odd thing i downloaded. Basically the s-video of a pc is comparable to a lower end budget dvd player. So I really wouldnt consider using the pc with a normal tv. The big benefit of the pc is with the likes of your tft or a projector/plasma.