1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie needs recommendation

Discussion in 'TVs' started by biltonl, Dec 31, 2001.

1. biltonl

biltonl

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm new to all this technical TV stuff and don't know my DTS from my progressive scan.

I want a new TV for about £400, I am thinking of buying a DVD player (nothing too special) and have a TiVo and a Playstation.

Any recommendations? and what basics should I look for?

Cheers,

Lara B

2. LV426

LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5,021
    Your TV should be a widescreen one. I wouldn't invest in special or clever sound processing in the TV. If you don't already have a separate amplifier, I'd work on the basis of getting one, later if necessary. So, your emphasis should be on picture quality. You should be able to pick up a fairly respectable basic 28" widescreen TV for your budget. Your TV should be capable of displaying an NTSC picture via its AV (eg Scart) input. (Most can, but make sure before you buy). It should have basic stereo sound.

Your DVD player should be multiregion. This will enable you to watch imported DVDs from the USA and Australia. (USA because they have a much bigger catalogue than us, discs tend to be better specified, and are usually released earlier; Australia because they are MUCH cheaper than here; both of these places don't suffer from censorship to the same extent as we do). To watch USA discs, your TV needs to be NTSC capable (see above). If you want a budget DVD player which can do this, Tesco are currently selling a Dansai 852 for £99.49 which is easily modified to play all regions. This is a bargain basement product, so don't expect great things, but it is more than adequate for a beginner.