Newbie Needs Help Choosing DSLR

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by pg325, Jun 6, 2008.

1. pg325

pg325

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi,

I'm thinking of purchasing a DSLR, have a budget of around £300 ish.

I want mainly to take macro shots of my corals and fish in my marine tank, but also take along to the Silverstone GP next month.

As a beginner I really need some help with the mountains of choice and where to buy.

Many thanks

PG.

2. Sigismund

Sigismund

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +102
    Hi there.

Probably best bang for your buck at the moment is the Sony Alpha 200 with 18-70mm kit lens from Dixons - £275.04 and even less using promo code AW5, less again if you go through Quidco and possibly even less if you use an Egg card! You could then add the 70-300mm Sigma macro lens for not much more...

The Olympus E-510 is also good value - and will probably become even better value soon with the upcoming release of the E-520. Olympus kit lenses offer excellent sharpness, and their 35mm macro lens has a very good reputation. :thumbsup:

3. TarMoo

TarMoo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +298
    A good macro lens like the Tamron 90 will set you back a couple of hundred, so you best stick with the kit lens that comes with a budget SLR. Apart from the Sony there the Nikon D40 is a popular choice for a budget DSLR.

Long term, if you plan to buy a lot of lenses and other extras then the best selection are these brands --- Canon, Nikon and then Sony. Third party lenses from Sigma, Tamron etc are usually available for these three mounts.

Best to have a try of the alternatives. If you buy online at Jessops then you can pick up in store. See www.camerapricebuster.co.uk

4. SatDude

SatDude

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +39
    Quick question Mark, for a beginner would you recomend a Sony Alpha 200 or Nikon D40.