Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Newbie needs all in one for £250?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Muppet99, Jan 11, 2004.

  1. Muppet99

    Muppet99
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I am a newbie to Home Cinema, I am looking for an all-in-one system to partner my Sony KV32 FX68. I have shortlisted the JVC THA35, the Pioneer DCS313, the panasonic SCHT500 and the Panasonic SCMT-1. It is dificult to find reviews which compare these together so if any owners or ex-owners! have any comments I would be grateful.
    My room is about 8mx5m, I don't need to play region 1 discs but I would like the system to give a good powerful performance with both movies and music. My budget is strictly £250 or less.Any thoughts would be most appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. mxs

    mxs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lowestoft
    Ratings:
    +9
    Richer sounds are still doing the Sony DAVS 550 multi region for around that price I think!
     
  3. Muppet99

    Muppet99
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, is the Sony much better than any of the above? I have read that its sound performance is a bit disappointing and is slightly underpowered.
     
  4. DDDavo

    DDDavo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I find it great and at loud volumes my room becomes a no-go area. However my room is 3 x 3m (small) so you would probably be better looking at others. generally, all sony sytems are lower power output than others, then again i find them the best styled and compact. The Pioneer 313 will have no problems with power output however i hate it becuase its so ugly! The Sony s550 will be fine at higher volumes but try considering the Panasonic SCHT500

    A link for the Sony
    http://www.richersounds.co.uk/index.php?f=itemdetl.php&p=davs550r2

    and the pani
    http://www.richersounds.co.uk/index.php?f=itemdetl.php&p=scht500r2
     
  5. Muppet99

    Muppet99
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, does the Sony have RGB output? I would prefer a system that does. What about the Pioneer SCMT 1?
    I personally don't mind the look of the 313 but have seen conflicting reviews of it, some excellent and some only average anybody else care to comment.
     
  6. DDDavo

    DDDavo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Sony s550 doesn't have scart RGB out, instead it has component. However the face-lifted model of it (which i think is a face fall) the SC5 does have scart output.

    The thing is the SC5 is about £100 more and you get what? Scart out and 9 watts more power output in terms of rms values. If you can get a component to scart cable, the S550 can produce a very good picture. As for that other pioneer model cant realy offer any advice
     
  7. mxs

    mxs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lowestoft
    Ratings:
    +9
    I run my 550, S video to scart on my 42" rptv, PQ is very good.
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Panny is very good for the money but depending on what else you have ie SKY, PS2 etc connection options are often limited on all in ones where as seperates offer better connectivity, So what else is connected to TV and do you have a DVD player already?
     
  9. DDDavo

    DDDavo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes i mean i run mine to a 14" tv (tiny i know but i'm currently still living at home) via composite (which is worse than component then RGB scart then S-video) But i have been told running through s video out with a scart to s video lead, pictures fine. But i have aslo been told that using component output picture quality is far superior. As i say, i have no problems!
     
  10. cucumber

    cucumber
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you can go to £350 (from Comet) get the Panasonic SCHT900. Comes with it's own speaker stands so may actually save you cash.

    Bought mine yeasterday after lots of deliberation and am very pleased.
     
  11. Muppet99

    Muppet99
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks everyone. £350 is unfortunately out of the question. In response to connectivity, I have SKY and would occasionally use a games console but nothing else. My current DVD player is well past it! It would seem then that I should look at the panny 313 and the sony 550 using a component to scart lead. Any other suggestions?
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Does the KV32 FX68 accept component video??? You had better check this as component and RGB are totally different and YOU CANNOT CONNECT COMPONENT TO A NORMAL SCART.
    If the DAV has switchable COmponent and RGB outputs (which i doubt) then this may (unlikelt tho) be possible.
     
  13. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +220
    Which rptv is it? Presumably not one with component inputs like some of the Toshibas.
     
  14. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +220
    The Samsung HTDM150 is still available for £199 at skybuy. A great system for that sort of money. Got one myself. Well reviewed, lots of great features. Can't go wrong.
     
  15. mxs

    mxs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lowestoft
    Ratings:
    +9
    Thomson, which has 3 scart inputs at the back(2 of which are RGB) and svideo input in the front :suicide: Hence I use the svideo out on my Sony DAVS 550 to scart in on my TV.

    I was expecting the worse when I put a disc in, but was very suprised at the PQ running the cabling this way :clap:

    Go for the 550, excellant value for money IMO!:smashin:
     
  16. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +220
    Whats the quality like though using a RGB scart connection?
     
  17. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    DAV550 cant output RGB and doesnt have a scart Bonzobanana.
    (or was that your point?)
     
  18. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +220
    I wasn't being sarcastic I meant the rptv assuming he'd tried RGB sources like a skybox or console. I know rptv's pictures can look a bit washed out etc but you'd still think he'd see a big improvement via RGB picture quality wise. Thomson being a european company tend to do scart rgb quite well.
     
  19. mxs

    mxs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lowestoft
    Ratings:
    +9
    Not tried RGB, but I run Freeveiw through AV2 (which is switchable to RGB), and the picture is spot on! no washed out picture, good colour etc... I am very pleased with this TV.
     
  20. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Ah i get you i thought you meant DAV qaulity through scart, not what the TV looks like when fed RGB from a scart input E.G Sky.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice