Newbie needs advice

emad

Banned for trading fraud
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am new to the world of HC, and would like some advice about speakers' location.
I have room for floor standing front speakers, but not for rear speakers. My room is rectangular with a Plasma on the wall.
My budget is £800/£900 for the speakers. The system will be used for TV/Music 80%/20%.

My questions are?
1- Can I combine floor standing and wall-hung speakers.
2-Which speaker combination would you recommend at this budget?
3-As the sofa will be against the wall, what are my options in terms of hanging the rear speakers on the wall.

I've originally considered the Keff 2005.2 which fit the budget and save space, but after reading some of the threads in the forums I came to believe that floor-standings will generate better sound.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thx

Hi Emad
Welcome to the forums,
What are the actual dimensions of the room and what electronics will you be using(amp-dvd player) and yes you can use wall hanging rears with floor standers but in general most people use standmounters, wall hanging rears with a decent sub for the lower stuff.
Cheers Gonzo.:)

Thank you Gonzo,

my room is (3.75m X 4.0m)(12'3 X 13'2). As I am building the system from scratch, I did not buy any components yet. Budget arround £5000 for everything (£3000 for plasma leaving £2000 for speakers, DVD and Receiver).

I am contemplating the Denon 3803 and 2900 (£1400 for both).
OR Pioneer AX3 and 757i.

What do you think? Which speakers would you recommend for such a room with these electronics? standmounters or floor-standing are fine for front speakers, but I have no room for rear

Thank you

Emad

Hi Emad