1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NEWBIE NEEDS ADVICE: DENON AVR-2805 and B&W DM602 S3

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by ws2k, Apr 10, 2005.

Tags:
  1. ws2k

ws2k

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey Guys,
    I am absolute newbie when it comes to component/seperates. Need your precious advice on the Denon receiver/amplifier pairing with the B& W speakers. Specifications as shown below:

Denon AVR-2805
    6 ohms, 1 kHz, THD 0,7%
    Front L/R 135 W + 135 W
    Center 135 W
    Surround L/R 135 W + 135 W
    Surround Back L/R 135 W + 135 W

8 ohms, 20Hz-20kHz, 0,05%
    Front L/R 100 W + 100 W
    Center 100 W
    Surround L/R 100 W + 100 W
    Surround Back L/R 100 W + 100 W

B&W DM602 S3
    Freq. Range -6dB at 40Hz and 42kHz
    Sensitivity 90dB spl (2.83V, 1m)
    Normal Impedance 8 ohms (minimum 3.0 ohms)
    Power Handling 25W - 120W into 8 ohms on unclipped programme

Some questions:
    1. Is this a good setup/pairing?
    2. Will the Denon amplifier be able to handle the B&W speakers (3ohms minimum)?

Thanks in advance!

2. Harry T2

Harry T2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10
    1. Yes,
    2. Yes. Provided that your are not going to run a "test-tone" for an extended period of time at the frequency that the B&W dips to 3 Ohm. You will be fine for everyday music and movies.

3. dazjmarshall

dazjmarshall
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1

Hi WS2K,

I have the pairing that you have and can say that it is a good one :thumbsup:

I have had Denon amps with B&W speakers for many years now and aside from myself, most folk would also agree they make a good pairing too!

Cheers,
    Daz

4. ws2k

ws2k

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Harry T2 and Dazjmarshall for your advice :)

Dazjmarshall,