Newbie needing advice on full refurb AV system

kdc87

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

This is my first post so go easy, apologies if it's a bit lengthy...

I'm an aerial and satellite installer doing increasingly more av installations. Usually quite basic things like a couple of boxes into a hdanywhere 4x4 and running alongside an aerial distribution system etc, done a few small sonos installs too.
I have an AV guy that I usually pass bigger jobs like these to but I'm going to use this one as an opportunity to learn.

I've a pal who's refurbishing a large 4 bed property and wants a full hd distribution system but also a media room with 5.1 sound system.

So here a quick run down of whats required.:thumbsdow

Downstairs: Dining kitchen area - 55inch tv with possible soundbar
Formal living room - a socket on wall (which will be covered by a picture/mirror) with all facilities incase TV is fitted.
Garage conversion media room - 65inch screen, using old surround sound system (tannoy speakers, yamaha receiver), wiring to ceiling location for possible projector.

Upstairs: 3 Wall mounted TV's each connected to hd distribution system using cat.6

He wants all the equipment in a small cupboard under the stairs.

He wants 2 sky boxes, 1 apple tv, possibly blu ray and freeview as a back up incase the system goes down.

My questions are:

1. where should I put the av receiver ? as he doesnt want it seen in the media room just wants the tv up on the wall.

2.should i suggest he uses a control system so that they dont need multiple remotes around the place ? and if so what one, ive heard of control 4 being used but someone suggested to me the logitech harmony?

3. Will there be too much heat build up if putting all the sources and equipment under the stairs.

4. He says he might turn the media room into a proper home cinema in the future and that he wants all cables necessary left in the location for a projector, but how do I work out where this exact location should be.