1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

newbie - need help sorting out htpc jungle

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by biggygiant, Jul 21, 2003.

1. biggygiant

biggygiant

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

I am a newbie to the HTPC world, so would greatly like some assistance sorting out some of my confusion!

I started looking at setting up an MP3 jukebox (with me and my flatmates iPods, most of our CDs are already ripped, so being able to play them and mix them on the main HiFi seemed the logical step).

For this purpose, I started building the following system (some bits still on order):

DIGN HV5 (its gotta look good in the rack!)
    PIII 700
    512 MB RAM
    M-Audio Revolution 7.1 (connected to my H/K AVR-7500 amp and Dynaudio speakers)
    Barracuda V 120 GB
    some Radeon card (undecided as yet)

now while Im building this system, it obviously seems a good idea to go for a full on HTPC and build in a DVD drive so the PC can act as my main DVD (to eventually replace my Sony DVD-S7700). The display to begin with will be one 15" TFT and my Metz Atlantis 32" widescreen TV (Im looking at getting a projector, but it wont happen this year).

Question 1 : Will the picture quality be comparable?
    Question 2 : Is there any point doing this until I get the projector?
    Question 3 : Is there any way to get RGB Scart output from a PC?
    Question 4 : Is there a major benefit to using a hardware MPEG decoder?
    Question 5 : If so, what are the best MPEG decoder cards?
    Question 6 : What are the reccommended DVD drives for quietness (ie speed-lockable) and quality?

And then further down the line Im looking at integrating a PVR function, with my Sky Digital box as the main source.

Question 7 : How does one connect the skybox for best quality?