1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie looking for advice on Toshiba

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by bluemaxyboy, Jan 11, 2005.

1. bluemaxyboy

bluemaxyboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello guys & gals (although guess there are few ladies here)
    I'm new to this so go easy on me. A few questions for our resident experts that I can't find on the searches. I think everyone will know just how rusty I am when I tell you my amp is a Yamaha RXV590RDS (same as a DSP A590).

I have just purchased a 36ZP46 (£799 from currys)
    No geometry problems (that I can see), I'm guessing this is basically how square the image is displayed within the confines of the screen ?????.
    I Have put bboy-mass settings in and am pleased to say the picture is excellent, although I think this may be down to 3 things (in this order)
    1 bboy-mass settings
    2 The transmitter over here was on reduced power (now rectified)
    3 I think the screen has settled in (not sure if anyone will believe this one)

Would anyone have personal experience of the following dvd players when used with this TV. Please feel free to diss the prices etc.
    Toshiba SD340 (£80 Laser-not yet multiregioned how difficult is it ???)
    Pioneer DV370 (£75 Flicks N.Ireland-multiregioned)
    Sony DVPNS £95 (Sony centre-multiregioned)

I noticed the Currys leads referred to in an earlier post for £10 are these the JVC JX-150. I have a set of these and was planning on using them with one of the above players as component leads?????

I am considering connections as follows
    Ext 1 Phillips freeview (formerly On-digital) scart to scart
    Ext 2 Sony playstation 1
    Ext 3 Panasonic (NVHD-430) video with link through set up from Ext 5 for camcorder editing/transfering.
    Ext 4 Replacement DVD via aforementioned Currys JX-150 lead.