1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie just purchased AVR300 + DV79 - Tips?

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by Janibrewski, Sep 19, 2005.

1. Janibrewski

Janibrewski
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to the world of HiFi - was set to buy a new tv and these boards (avsforum.com) got me to go from keeping my old HTIB stuff to upgrading. I was set on a Denon 4306 and one of the Denon DVD players - but ended up going with ARCAM gear based on recommendations at AVS and Totem (the maker of my speakers, Forests and Model-1 sig center).

I got the AVR300 and my dealer tried to sell me on the DV29 over the DV79, but being new to all this I had a hard enough time justifying the price of the 79.

It is on order, so if I am to rethink I need to do it now. From what I can gather the main improvement to going to the 29 would be CD sound quality - is that right?

I don't think I can justify the extra cash unless there is a significant difference...

I'm new to all this, so any advice is appreciated!

Also, I've read rumors about a new AVR coming out in January - please tell me that doesn't make an AVR300 decision a mistake...

EDIT - does it bother you guys that ARCAM can't do SACD? There don't seem to be many DVD-A's out there...

2. LFCRules

LFCRules

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +188
    Hi Janibrewski,

Lots of questions there :)

DV29 does give improvement on CD quality, but also build quality, and HDMI v1.1 are the main others. Best to try it out yourself in a demo if you can, see if you can see the picture and sound improvements over the DV79. But if the money doesn't stretch, you won't be disappointed with the DV79.