1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*NEWBIE* IR Controlled Dimmer Switch - Advice Please!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by mouseboy, Feb 24, 2005.

1. mouseboy

mouseboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I'm new to this - so please be gentle ;o)
    I'm thinking of buying an IR controlled dimmers witch such as:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=57215&item=5958045730

However, it says that "Must not be used with a standard switch in a two way circuit. Use Slave switches for more than one switch in a circuit"

I was hoping to put it in my living room where I have a 'normal' on-off light switch and a dimmer switch. I was thinking of replacing the dimmer switch with the IR switch above.

My question therefore is will this work - i'm not sure I understand the implications of the 'two-way circuit' and 'slave switch'. I'm assuming that as I have one light fitting which can be controlled by either the dimmer or the on-off switch that mine is two way??

Any advice would be great!

Thanks

P.S. I'm in the UK in case the country/voltage makes a difference

2. Flimber

Flimber
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    Welcome to the forums.

Lots of people have got these from TLC Direct. There is FAQ/instructions online there too. Might be a fraction cheaper to boot (?).

Mike.

3. mouseboy

mouseboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the quick reply Mike,
    I've had a look on their website and am still not 100% sure, so i've e-mailed their tech support.

Cheers,

Andrew

4. Dave R

Dave R
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2