Newbie hoping for some advice

mattsatonacat

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi all

I've just moved into a property and have found myself with a small-ish room which would be ideally suited to turning into a bit of a home cinema/computer game room.

So, I've been looking at projectors online and have browsed the website a little but have found myself getting a bit confused (i have no knowledge of projectors!)

Basically, I'm looking for as good a projector as I can get for around the £400 mark. Any advice? I'm also wanting to be able to connect my xbox, tv, surround sound, blu-ray player...so is there so any splitter/adaptor that would be needed to do that?

Any advice would be much appreciated as a bit lost at the moment!

Cheers, Matt

Your best bet at £400 is the Optoma HD600x it's the best there is at around the price.

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/5580659.htm?CMPID=GS001&_$ja=tsid:11527|cc:|prd:5580659|cat:eek:ffice%2C+pcs+and+phones+%2F+projectors+and+screens+%2F

Regards connecting up your kit what surround sound system do you have.The projector has 2 hdmi inputs and component so you can connect the bluray player and x box directly but better through the sound system if it has the correct input/outputs.

Thanks for the quick reply kbfern.

I did see that one online. Would you say its better than the Abis LX-LED-2?

Full HD LED Projector 50,000 Hours of Bulb Life

Seems to be reduced to £400, and it says it is greater than 720p?

With regards to surround sound system, I don't actually have one yet! Will be getting one along with the projector. So you would recommend ensuring the surround sound system had ports to connect xbox, blu-ray etc?

The blurb alone on the page you linked to puts me off that projector instantly, you should stick with the one recommended or have a look at the classifieds.

Re: surround sound, depending on your devices make sure there's sufficient inputs to match what's plugging into it.