Newbie help with new sub (XLS200) installation please?

Xionn

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Well I've just brought my first separate 5.1 home cinema system upgrade (items in sig) and have got everything setup apart from the sub as it arrived today (thanks to those who helped in previous threads). Currently using an older sub we had which was part of a Sony speaker system setup, which only has a on/off button and level dial and connected via a Mono cable from sub to AV.

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to subs as this is my first sub with proper dials you can adjust and fine tune, so have a lot to learn here.

So the sub I got is the BK Electronics XLS200-FF MKII.

The AV I am connecting my sub to is a Sony STR-DH820.

So the three cables I have are the power cord, one Neutrik Speakon socket (had no idea what this was at first, big connection at one end and the other end has three thin cables, red, white and black) and one gold ended RCA cable (I requested mono) which has the same connection at both ends.

I was wondering what is the best way to connect the new sub to my new AV?

High Level Input - Which would be the big Neutik lead into the sub and the other end as follows:
White cable --> Left Red
Black cable --> Left Black
Red cable --> Right Red
(Unsure about this, I have banana plugs currently going into the back of the AV for the Front left and right, how does this work?)

Low Level Input - Which would be the gold plated mono cables with one end into "R Mono" on the sub and the other end into "Subwoofer Audio Out" on the AV.
(Seems much more simple! This is how the current sub is connected to the AV)

The setup after that seems a bit confusing at first with the adjusting of the gain to match level of main speakers / frequency control adjustment to meet crossover point etc but I'll see how that goes once I connect it all up and test on a film.