1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie help with HDTV signal/ connection

Discussion in 'TVs' started by MrRod, Jan 18, 2005.

1. MrRod

MrRod

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi There,

I'm a newbie to this HDTV thing (only came across it when looking at plasma/LCD screens)

Could someone please explain the various signal types ("480p, 720p, 1080i scaled for 720p viewing", etc).

Also, the screens I have come across mainly seem to have NTSC/ATSC tuners. As I will only be connecting via S-video or SCART composite, does this matter?

Thanks in advance

2. dan1979

dan1979

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +201
  3. Waser

Waser

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +72
    I have a question. On the connector ports section of the above web site I see:
    * DVI-D / ** HDMI / ***HD-Component (Y/Pb/Pr)

My TV, a Panny TX32LXD1, has component inputs. Will I be able to view Hi-Def Sky through this connection? As I heard recently only HDMI or DVI connections will be supported by Sky HDTV set-top boxes.

All help appreciated.

4. dan1979

dan1979

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +201
    With the information currently held - no

But that could change nearer the time, Sky would be alienating a lot of potential users.

5. blackfly

blackfly

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've heard said that HDMI is required for security and encryption reasons, I doubt this is true though.
    At my Wifes place in FL many channels are broadcast on HD (they even have HD ota :rolleyes: ), whilst some (eg HDNET, ShowtimeHD etc) are subscription based and blocked. Our TV connects through the component jacks (YPrPb) so the STB must do the blocking.
    Is there any reason Sky could not use the STB to block ppl recording premium content instead of requiring HDMI?