1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie - Help required please

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by blagdon, Nov 27, 2003.

1. blagdon

blagdon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

I am looking at buying my first digital camcorder (probably the Sony TRV33) in the next few days and would like to clarify something before I actually part with the cash and order the thing.

I have no experience with digital camcorders but have recently purchased a digital camera that is capable of recording video clips and I have successfully downloaded those video clips to my PC as AVI files. I have then played about with them in Windows Movie Maker and it has worked great. This has given me the movie making bug so I want to purchase a proper digital camcorder to record longer footage.

My question's are as follows:

- What format is the video footage stored in on a camcorder? Is it stored as an AVI file (the same as my digital camera's video clips) or another format?
    - Can I simply connect the camcorder to my PC via a USB cable and drag a file containing the video footage from the camcorder onto the PC? As the footage is recorded on tape rather than a memory card I thought it may work differently?

I have looked at the manual for the TRV33 via a link on another website but cannot see anything about being able to simply download a file from the camcorder to the PC like I can do with my digital camera. Everything seems to relate to viewing the footage on a PC via USB streaming but does this download the footage at the same time so I can open it up in Movie Maker?

Any information you can give me on this would be much appreciated so I can make sure I can do what I need to with the footage recorded before I buy the thing.

Thanks

2. vonhosen

vonhosen

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13