1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie CD Problem....

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by tony4563, Jan 25, 2004.

1. tony4563

tony4563

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +23
    I've just treated myself to a Cambridge Azur 640C CD player and matching amplifier. It sounds really good but I have noticed that some discs make a fairly loud ticking noise whilst playing. Its mainly CDR'S but it does happen with some original discs. I have my system in a small study and play at relatively low volumes, so it is quite distracting sometimes. I'm new to HiFi so I really don't know if this is normal. Anyone notice this with their drives? Any comments appreciated!

2. rupbert

rupbert

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +18
    Welcome to the forums tony4563 :)

The best answer would come from an owner of the 640c , however...

I own a NAD 521i CD player, and it is inaudible whilst playing, only putting my ear to the machine can I hear any 'movement'. Having heard the 640c in a 'non-silent' RS demo room, I would hope it would have the same characteristics in a silent room.

Hopefully someone who owns one can comment. If the 'ticking' sound only came from CD-R playback, then I would be less concerned, however if it occurs with original CD's, then there must be an explanation/cause...

Does the ticking occur throughout the entire playback? If you pause a track that the 'ticking' occurs on, does it also 'pause'? Is it a repeating 'tick', i.e does it tick every few seconds?

3. tony4563

tony4563

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +23