1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie buying advice

Discussion in 'TVs' started by jordelver, Mar 15, 2004.

1. jordelver

jordelver
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I'm quite new to this home cinema stuff, in fact this is going to be my first widescreen television buy! After reading all of the different threads on this forum, the thought of actually buying a new (expensive!) tv is very daunting.

I'm going to be buying a widescreen tv and a home cinema setup of some sorts. TV first, followed by dvd player, amp and speakers as cash flow allows. I have thought about the following:

- Panasonic TX-32PD30 or Sony 32DX150 (probably the panasonic)
    - Denon AVR-770SD A/V Surround Receiver
    - Denon DVD-770SD DVD Player
    - Denon 770 speakers or Mission FS1

What do you think of this setup?

It seems that to get a good tv is a bit hit or miss. Some people have good experiences first time, others send back their tv's totally. This puts me off of buying online, even though prices are generally a lot less than elsewhere. Am I right in thinking it is going to be easier to send back a tv (if something goes wrong) to proper shop such as John Lewis or main dealer?

Any advice on this would be appreciated.

Cheers,
    Jord

2. Pugger

Pugger
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    jordelver, around 2 months ago I was in the same boat as you. New to all this Home Cinema marlarky. Anyway got loads of great advice off this site and some excellent responses from many of the posters.